# Terms of Reference: The 'PCQ Review' Working Group

#### **Role of the Working Group**

At the September 2020 PCQ Assembly a formal denominational review of the PCQ was approved. Following the Assembly, its new Commission formed a Working Group to design and facilitate the PCQ Review.

### Scope of the Review

The scope of the review was shaped by a series of recommendations from a 'Think Tank' of ministers that met in July 2020, at the invitation of the then Commission of Assembly. These recommendations were subsequently adopted by the September 2020 Assembly, specifically instructing:

- 1. PCQ engage an external facilitator to guide us through a process in order to review our denomination...
- 2. The review canvass and include input from across all stakeholders in the denomination.
- 3. In terms of scope, the review address:
  - a) PCQ's mission, values, culture and identity;
  - b) PCQ's structure, code and processes.
- 4. The review conclusions and recommendations be provided to the 2021 PCQ Assembly.

# **Responsibilities of the Working Group**

The major responsibilities of the Working Group include:

- a) Design the processes for conducting such a wide-ranging denominational review.
- b) Facilitate the inclusion of input from all stakeholders in the denomination.
- c) Draft preliminary conclusions in report form.
- d) Suggest recommendations for the Commission of Assembly to present to the 2021 PCQ Annual Assembly, including a series of strategic priorities for the denomination over the next 5 years.

## **Powers of the Working Group**

The Working Group has no powers of its own, other than to act on behalf of and as instructed by the Commission of Assembly. Hence the remit of the Working Group is primarily one of process facilitation.

## Membership

The Working Group is made up of those members chosen, from time to time, by the PCQ Commission of Assembly. Membership currently includes:

Mr Tim Dyer

Mrs Kathy Thurston

Mr Andrew Nielson

**Rev David Thurston** 

Mrs Kylie Evans

Mr Russell Williams

Ms Katie Allan

Mr Bruce McClenahan

Rev David Bailey

### **Expertise**

The recommendations of the 2020 ThinkTank included the following reflection regarding expertise:

'Recognising our own blind spots, bias and lack of training in this area. This external facilitator does not give us the answers but guides us all through a process which includes the elements identified by the Think Tank.' Accordingly, the Commission of Assembly has determined that the Working Group is to be led by a suitably qualified external facilitator, in this case being Mr Tim Dyer of John Mark Ministries.

### Chairperson

The Chair of the Working Group is Mr Tim Dyer as appointed by the Commission of Assembly, with Mrs Kathy Thurston acting as Secretary as determined by mutual agreement of the Working Group.

If the Chair is absent an acting Chair will be appointed by delegation, either from the Chair or, in his absence, the Clerk of the Assembly.

### **Operation of the Working Group**

The Group meets from time to time as determined by mutual agreement, with tasks agreed upon, delegated and minuted by the Secretary.

It is anticipated the Working Group will meet at least fortnightly for much of the first half of 2021 and include a series of consultative forums in all Presbyteries across the state, to ensure all stakeholders are able to provide input into the PCQ Review.

#### **Review and Assessment of the Working Group**

The Working Group is to provide regular (at least monthly) ongoing reports to the Commission of Assembly as to its progress, subjecting itself to the ongoing authority of the Commission.

External assessment measures may be put in place by either the Commission of Assembly or the Assembly itself, upon conclusion of the presentation of the Group's report and recommendations.